When I See U

Writers Note: This is the first time I’ve taken something from my notes to my blog, but I felt compelled and that’s what vulnerability does to you…

I need to start giving my random thoughts a title but anyways… I am sitting here at this really cute restaurant in Philly. The funny thing about stumbling upon this place and sitting down, is that it is the exact type of business I would like to own someday. It’s a wine & bistro, it has both small bites and a small dinner menu…wine, cocktails – it’s narrow, the walls are brick, it is intimate, dark, and the music is fire (all R&B). Conversations are flowing around me, people are tapping glasses in celebration or simply out of tradition, and while I am sitting here listening to The Read and thinking about a business idea (I’m alone), I’m also thinking about companionship and partnership. I take my headphones out to really take my environment in. I’m watching couples smile at each other and clink glasses. I overhear enlightening conversations ranging from the news, to business ventures, babies, to debates about the cocktails being overpriced – and while I came in here alone because I was exploring my neighborhood and was fucking starving – I can’t help but wish that I was here with someone that I deeply enjoy, someone I love smiling at, someone I love talking to, someone I adore… someone I love.

The feeling I feel right now isn’t exactly loneliness though… it’s longing.

I want to experience these random stumble upon moments with someone.

On the list of things that I miss about partnership, this is just one.

Sharing food with someone, recognizing and singing songs, enjoying something new, having a story to tell… the presence of someone else.

I’m not sulking though, because from my thoughts and mouth to God’s ears…it will happen for me, I know it.


Leave a comment